Uncategorized

My Journey to Becoming a Radio City Rockette

Ever since I was a little girl I’ve wanted to be a Radio City Rockette. For those of you who may not be familiar with the Rockettes, they are known as one of the greatest precision dance companies in the world. Every year they grace the stage of Radio City Music Hall in their infamous show, The Christmas Spectacular.

10626462_10152363341084562_1576007652203870360_n
Radio City Music Hall.

Auditioning to become a Radio City Rockette will always be one of the greatest things I decided to do. A lot of preparation went into this one audition and I want to share my experience with you.

Here is a quick list of preparation tips:

  1. Dance Resume: This particular audition, plus I’m sure many others require a background history of your dance experience. My go-to reference for starting my resume was Dance Spirit Magazine. This article pieced everything together for a shining dance resume.
  2. Headshot: Typically  an audition will require an 8×10 professional photo so they have an image to remember you by.This is a great self-marketing tool and important if you want to stand out. A proper headshot should look natural and reflect your personality.
  3. Audition Outfit: It’s important that you read the dress code. Make sure you have the proper shoes, leotards and tights. My favorite leotards come from Capezio. They have hundreds of different styles and colors to choose from!

Now, let’s get to the good stuff! I’m sure you are all wondering what it’s like to attend a professional audition for such a prestigious group. I have two words to sum it all up. Nerve racking. My stomach was in knots the entire time!

The audition was being held in Alvin Ailey Dance Theater. There were about 500 women crammed into two different rooms to warm up and stretch. It was definitely intimidating, but you just have to remind yourself that you’re just as good as any of them.

From there, they called called groups one by one with each group containing 100 women. I was in the second group so I had a little more time to prepare. Finally we were called down to audition in front of the director of the Rockettes, Julie Branam. We were taught three simple eight counts of the signature eye-high kicks that the Rockettes do in each show. Check out the video below!

 

After we had performed the short sequence we had just learned I felt like I had nailed it. My kicks were straight and right where they needed to be. The next thing I knew, I was cut. I had literally been in the audition for five minutes! I was devastated.

Handling rejection is something that I’m definitely not good at. Of course I left that audition with my head down and my dreams crushed. I had traveled all the way from Oshkosh, Wisconsin to audition and I was in there for five minutes. But I can say that this audition taught me a lot about myself, improved my confidence, and has given me a reason to keep on trying.

I’m a big believer in going after your dreams. I can say that I did that. I took a big risk, put myself out there and even though it wasn’t the outcome that I wanted, I can still say that I did it. You better believe that I will be back again.

11755134_10153023886844562_3177147116975102163_n
I had the opportunity to stand on the stage at Radio City Music Hall.

Thanks for reading my story! If any of you have gone after your dreams I would love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

