Internship · Uncategorized

Freezin’ for more than One Reason

I don’t know about you,  but jumping into Lake Winnebago during the middle of February when it’s below 30 degrees is just not my cup of tea! You may be asking yourself,”why would anyone do that? It’s insane!” or maybe you’re thinking, “we live in Wisconsin, it’s what we do.” Well luckily for me I have had the pleasure of being an intern for Special Olympics Wisconsin since October of last year. Our main event to raise money for Special Olympics is to host the Polar Plunge which involves thousands of crazy people freezin’ for a reason!

Some of you may be wondering what my internship all entails. Well let me tell ya, it’s not always glamorous work.  I have done everything from licking thousands of envelopes, spending hours on databases to put together mailing lists to eIMG_1627ven wearing a bear costume at Buffalo Wild Wings. Not my proudest moment.

Yep, that’s me! Chilly Bear!

At the beginning of my internship I didn’t know that being a part of the event staff would mean so much to me. I have learned a lot about Special Olympics and why a large number of people donate their money and time to this organization. I’ve also learned that many people don’t even know what Special Olympics does for the athletes.

Here’s a couple of fun facts!

  • All of the funds raised for Special Olympics makes it possible for athletes with intellectual disabilities to compete free of charge.
  • Special Olympics Wisconsin athletes are provided with free health screenings to improve athletes’ health and well-being.
  • Special Olympics empowers individuals with intellectual disabilities to be respected members of society.

I am proud to say that participants of the Polar Plunge raised over $430,000 for Special Olympics Wisconsin!

I just want to express to students who may be looking for an internship or involved in one right now, that it is important that you love what you do. I had the opportunity to meet a few of the Special Olympics athletes the day of the Polar Plunge, and seeing the smiles on their faces really validated that this is something that I want to continue doing. So even though I was freezing out on Lake Winnebago for a few days, and participants were jumping into freezing water, it’s safe to say that we were all freezin’ for more than one reason.

Feel free to checkout Special Olympics’ Wisconsin Facebook page!

IMG_1706

 

One thought on “Freezin’ for more than One Reason

  1. I loved this blog post! The topic you covered was something you felt passion about and it made me want to help the Special Olympics. I can’t wait to see what else you come up with in future posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

